Study war

Een korte maar heldere en niet te ontkennen visie op wat oorlog in essentie is: Robert Fisk

Slechts twee quotes:

“We gift the dead with qualities they would never have wished to have like ‘they gave their lives’. Very few people give their lives. Most people desperately want to live and they pray to live and their families pray that they will live. They didn’t sacrifice themselves.”

“When you have never been in a war, you think it’s about victory or defeat. Which is the Hollywood-version: ‘We won or we lost.’ It’s actually about the total failure of the human spirit. It’s primarily about death. It’s about that, the bones underneath us now. That’s what war is about.”

Dit stukje legt de absurditeit ervan ook bloot. Wie bij de laatste seconden niet even slikt, …

2 Reacties to “Study war”

  1. Het trof me ook bijzonder, maar vooral om de herkenning.
    Ik was nog nooit in een oorlog en toch denk ik al heel mijn leven dat er enkel verliezers zijn.

  2. Prachtige citaten van Robert Fisk – maar weinig opbeurend. That’s life. Cormac McCarthy is al evenmin opbeurend, maar een geniaal schrijver.
    Meteen bied ik je ook hartelijke wensen aan voor 2010.

Geef een reactie

